Regret: A Grammatical Formula

Regret Formula: Subject + should + have + v3 ==== look at the example below:

I regret because I hit his car = I should not have hit (V3) his car

Positive                                                          negative

I regret because I didn’t give her a flower = I should have given her a flower

Negative                                                                                              positive

I regret because yesterday I didn’t come to school = I should have come to school yesterday

I regret because yesterday I didn’t eat = I should have eaten yesterday

I feel bad because I refused (rejected) her love = I should have received (accepted) her love == using antonym rather than “not”

I feel bad because I didn’t go to Bali = I should have gone to Bali

Formula = Subject + should + have + v3

I shouldn’t have leaved her in the rail way station (negative)

Fact = I leaved her (positive) = antonym verb

Regret = I regret that I leaved her in the rail way station

Leave a Reply

